Local Governing Body

The Local Governing Body meets five or six times a year, usually once every half term.

Click here for Governor Meeting Dates 2016 - 2017

At the end of 2015/16 governors agreed that now CPS is part of a Multi-Academy Trust there was no need for separate committees. Instead, items previously covered at the TLS Committee such as assessment data would be part of the Local Governing Body meetings and individual named governors would meet with Mrs Yarnold as necessary.


Cathedral Primary School Local Governing Body

Name  Category of Governor 
(and Appointing Body)


From  To 
Sara Yarnold Ex-officio Headteacher
Accounting Officer
Neil Blundell Governor (Reappointed when Local Governing Body created)

Executive Principal of
Cathedral Schools Trust.
Health & Safety governor

23/08/12  21/06/20
Stephen Parsons


(Reappointed when Local Governing Body created)

Children in Care

23/08/12 22/08/20
 Penny Knowles Parent Governor
(elected by parents)

Pupil Premium
Equalities Lead

 22/11/13  21/11/17
Will Shield


(Reappointed when Local Governing Body created)

SEND 13/10/14 12/10/18
Tracy Dixon

Parent Governor

(elected by parents)
Assessment 07/12/15   06/12/19
 Tracey Benzecry


(Reappointed when Local Governing Body created)
Early Years  16/02/16 15/02/20 
Chelsea Cummins

Staff Governor (appointed by staff)

  16/02/16 15/02/20
Ben Knight


  08/10/12 07/10/16
 Stephen Atkinson




David Hoyle



Dean of Bristol Cathedral 18/04/13 16/02/16
Chris Sims


Finance 05/08/13




Local Governing Body Meetings

Our school governors meet at least once every term. Once approved, Minutes of Full Governor Meetings are available below or can be requested via the clerk Paula Parker.



Cathedral Primary School Declaration of Business Interests 2015 / 2016

Name of Governor Name of Business Nature of Business Nature of Interest Date of Appointment or Acquisition Date of Entry / Checked
Stephen Parsons

Worshipful Company of Security Professionals Charitable Trust

 Education and Health  Chair    October 2015

Bristol Cathedral Trust

Cathedral Charity Chair    

Fitzhardinge Society

Cathedral Support Chair    

Society of Merchant Venturers

Charity Member    

Bristol Cathedral Choir School

Education Chair 2008  

Old Smiths Yard Management Co. Ltd

Resident Property Mgt Director March 2014  

Diocese of Bristol Academies Trust and Dioceses of Bristol Academies Company

Education Director July 2012  

LEP Social Enterprise Sector Group

Local Business Chair December 2012  
Neil Blundell Bristol Cathedral Choir School Education Principal September 2008 October 2015
Diocese of Bristol DOBAC Board of Education Education      
Steve Atkinson Aukett Fitzroy Robinson, now Aukett Swanke Architects Director / Owner 1994 October 2015
Bristol Cathedral Choir School Education Director  2011  

Tracey Benzecry

CMS Cameron McKenna Solicitors Husband is Partner 1994 February 2016
Ben Knight   Bristol UWE Education Senior Lecturer September 2009  
Knights Players Youth Theater Director November 2008 October 2015
Project Zulu Charity Director 2012  
Sara Yarnold Cathedral Primary School Education Head Teacher August 2013 October 2015
Penny Knowles Self Employed Property Property Manager / Administrator July 2015 October 2015
Will Shield North Somerset Council Education Employee (Educational Psychologist) March 2014 October 2015
Self Employed Education Post 16 Dyslexia / Specific Learning Difficulty Assessment October 2013  
Tracy Dixon Juice Creative Communications Design and Branding Partner Februray 1997 January 2016
Chelsea Cummins Cathedral Primary School Education Teacher September 2014 February 2016

Local Governing Body Meeting - Attendance: September 2016 – May 2017

Governor Name

 Number of Possible Full Governor Meetings Number of Full Governor Meetings Attended 
Sara Yarnold 5 5
Neil Blundell  5 4
Stephen Parsons  5 4
Penny Knowles  5 3
Will Shield 5 5
Tracy Dixon 5 5
Tracey Benzecry  5 3
Chelsea Cummins  5 5


Local Governing Body Meetings - Attendance: September 2015 - August 2016

Governor Name  Number of Possible Full Governor Meetings Number of Full Governor Meetings Attended  Number of Possible TLS Committee Meetings  Number of TLS Committee Meetings Attended 
Sara Yarnold 6 6 4 4
Neil Blundell  6 4 4 1
Stephen Parsons  6 6 4 2
Penny Knowles  6 6 4 4
Ben Knight  6 3 4 2
David Hoyle  3 2    
Stephen Atkinson  5 0    
Will Shield  6 4 4 3
Tracy Dixon  4 4 2 2
Tracey Benzecry 3 3
Chelsea Cummins 3 3 1 1